Overcome your inner perfectionist.

Recently it has been pointed out to me that I stress out to much, and that I am a control freak. Of course I’m stressed out. I work full time, go to school full time, am planning my wedding, need to maintain my apartment, cook dinner, run errands, and am trying to maintain an active, healthy lifestyle. My mom said that of course I’m a control freak, I’m the oldest of 3 and given some hectic years, I like to make sure I’m prepared for everything. And I mean overprepared. Before I go to bed, I clean up a little, get the coffee ready, make my lunch for the next day, plan out what I’m wearing the next day, get together everything I’ll need in the morning, and then finally get ready for bed. Its roughly a 40 minute process, depending on how long it takes me to decide what I want to wear the next day.
This obviously took its toll on me, and I became moody, irritated, and anxious.
Luckily, I got a promotion that actually put me into a less stressful job.
That helped, but I still had work to do. I knew I needed to find a way to calm down, because I couldn’t live every second of my life thrumming with stress.
Typically, I’m a very good student. I try my hardest, I do all my work, I ask questions, etc. Well, with school being the biggest stressor in my life, guess what I had to do? I had to make school less stressful. In my fiancé’s words, I need to just “take the B” and be happy with it. This means I can skip some assignments that aren’t worth many points yet take up my time.
This doesn’t mean I’m skipping a ton of assignments. But it does mean that if I have two different discussion forums to post in for the same class in the same week and they’re each only 10 points, I’m skipping one of them. If I have to do a huge post on my own worth 12 points and 2 replies worth 8 points, I’m just gonna do the replies.
I have too much going on to try to be a perfectionist in all I do. So I take it down a notch on the school work. I let the laundry sit for a day. I let the dishes sit for two. I ask for help when I need it, instead of going “no I got this!” as I balance books, dishes, the vaccum, and a spatula, teetering on falling over any second.
I read my bible every morning for peace, and I reach out to those who love me for support. I take time for me, I take time for my relationship. An AA is an AA whether I get all A’s or some B’s and C’s. My sanity is more important than a perfect GPA. I needed to overcome my inner perfectionist, and while there will still be some struggles, I am already 10x less stressed out, and that’s definitely worth a B and some free time.

image

About PaigeWrites

26, Cat mom, California girl, aspiring Teacher, Wife, Christian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

