Big Hearts & Lots of Redbull.

I should not be writing this right now. I should be doing homework. But writing is good for the soul and I’m tired of essays at the moment, so here it goes.

I’ve been working in education about a month now, and I totally love it. It doesn’t feel like I’m going to work. That may be in part to all the years I spent helping out in my moms classroom, but mostly I just love it. 

Not to say it isn’t difficult, because it is. I spent my entire day today running around feeling like a chicken with my head cut off. But I helped students today, and that’s what I care about. That’s what this is for. I also stuck around school for almost an hour afterwards to talk about things with teachers and staff to better help myself and the students-but I won’t get paid for that time. Would I like to? Of course. But it’s also helpful to me anyways, because it will make my life easier tomorrow.

Not to brag, but I get complimented about what a great job I do all the time. And honestly, that’s what I want to hear. Not because I like being praised (I mean of course I do, but still) but because it means I am doing my job with the heart I should be. I wanna do everything I can to help these students do their best, and that’s when I know that I’m doing my job right.

Anyone working in education is doing it because they want to better the lives of their students. And they work many, many unpaid hours. They take work home with them. They carry the weight of their students lives with them sometimes! 

Right now I work a 6 hour day, I work on my own homework while I wait for my boyfriend to get home (because I am also going to school full time), eat dinner, work on more homework, go to sleep, and repeat. And lemme tell you, the only thing that gets me through it is my heart for these kids, and lots of caffeine. 

If you know someone who works in education, hug them. They deserve it!

If you also work in education-drink up!  

 

About PaigeWrites

26, Cat mom, California girl, aspiring Teacher, Wife, Christian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

